Gotta Grow Some Taters

I grew up in St.Augustine, FL which is also known as the “Nation’s Oldest City.”  Flat sandy beaches, beautiful bay front views and magical sunsets court the variety of tourists that come from near and far.  But, what some may not know is that further inland, people grow potatoes.  Some of my dearest friends growing up were farmers.  I wanted to further my appreciation for them by trying to do all the preparation, digging, weeding, singing and sowing that goes into food production.

IMG_0623

Ms.Dudley’s favorite first graders, ever.

Since my special delivery of cowshit, onions, garlic and taters are giving way in my little plot.  Swiss chard, perpetual spinach, kale, swedes, basil and thyme are attempting life in the windowsill.  The anxious reality that my onions and garlic won’t be ready until August will be quelled once my leafy things take off.  Well, unless the hares get them first!

“I don’t believe in green thumbs, only brown ones.”-Klaus Laitenberger

Sadly, we often forget all the time and energy that farmer friends dedicate to growing real food.  And instead of giving veg a go, we opt for a grassy lawn overlooking some serious garden potential.  Here’s to sustainable living and super stinky garlic breath!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Gotta Grow Some Taters

  1. This is great Haley!! Good luck with your veggies!!! Ms. Dudley was the reason I wanted to be a teacher!!! Love that picture.

    • Thank you so much Monica! She had a sort of calming effect on me-like life was gonna be alright! So happy that you are enriching the lives of Earth’s littlest members, nobody better for the job I’d say! Thank you for commenting, it gives me joy to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

